Thad Nicholls

CAS Program Coordinator
Background in Geosciences and Coral Reef Ecology
thad.nicholls@usu.edu

Jessica Schad

Sociology, Social Work, & Anthropology Rural and agricultural populations survey methodology, community theory and analysis, rural sociology, research methods, population studies. jessica.schad@usu.edu

James Powell

Applied Mathematics & Biology
Specializations: Mathematical Fields: Applied Mathematics, Asymptotic Methods, Nonlinear Evolution PDE, Dynamical Systems, Model Fitting and Competition jim.powell@usu.edu

Daniella Hirschfeld

Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning Community resilience, landscape strategies for climate adaptation, disaster mitigation and planning. daniella.hirschfeld@usu.edu

Joel Pederson

Geology
Specializations: Geomorphology, Landscape Evolution joel.pederson@usu.edu  

Sarah Klain

Environment & Society
Cultural Ecosystem Services, Renewable Energy Landscapes
sarah.klain@usu.edu

Kezia Manlove

Wildland Resources & Ecology Center

kezia.manlove@usu.edu

Emile Elias

Acting Director, USDA Southwest Climate Hub Water Resources, Agriculture, & Climate Change

Ryan Choi

Wildland Resources
I have a BA in Biology from Whitman College, and an MS in Ecology, Wildland Resources from Utah State University. I am studying the impacts of climate change on ecosystem function in the Yukon Delta National Wildlife Refuge in Alaska. I have focused on how phenology of sub-arctic tundra plants and the seasonal arrival of migratory Pacific black brant (Branta bernicla nigricans) affects nutrient cycling and storage in a sedge-dominated ecosystem.

Emily Esplin

Environment & Society
I have a BS in Marriage, Family & Human Development from Brigham Young University and a BA in Spanish from Utah Valley University. I am passionate about helping local people build resilience to natural hazards in their community through protective behaviors, smart planning, and emergency preparedness. I am currently studying how Americans adapt to extreme heat events and how this hazard is communicated in Utah. My other research interests include disaster risk reduction, risk perception and communication, and natural hazards mitigation and outreach campaigns.
MS Geography, 2018