Communicating Science Series

Please join us for an interdisciplinary series in which we explore how to communicate science effectively.

January 16, 2019

Dr. Rebecca Walton
Associate Professor of Technical Communication and Rhetoric
rebecca.walton@usu.edu

February 13, 2019

Rachel Hager
QCNR Graduate Student and UPR Science Reporter
rachel.nia.hager@gmail.com

All presentations will be in USU Merrill-Cazier Library Room 154 from 11:30-12:30.

 

Past Presentations

November 14, 2018

Dr. Robert Davies
Science Storyteller
robert.davies@usu.edu
Click here to view the presentation.
Opening video: Get Lit Players Gordon Ip & Raul Herrera, performing at Frank Gathering, Feb. 2016 in Gainesville, FL.

October 10, 2018

Jason Williams
Radio Host, KVNU For the People
Presentation: Science, Public Policy and Changing Newsrooms
jasonthe@gmail.com
Click here to view Jason's presentation.

September 12, 2018

Dr. Ricardo Ramirez
USU Extension Entomologist
Presentation: Communicating in Extension
ricardo.ramirez@usu.edu
Click here to view Ricardo's presentation.

March 28th, 2018

Star Coulbrooke
Logan City Poet Laureate and USU Writing Center Director

View Presentation star.coulbrooke@usu.edu

February 21st, 2018

Kerry Bringhurst
Utah Public Radio

kerry.bringhurst@usu.edu

January 24th, 2018

Holly Strand
Science Communication Specialist

holly.strand@usu.edu

November 15, 2017

Carsten Meier
Department of Art and Design

carsten.meier@usu.edu

October 18th, 2017

Jennifer Peeples
Department of Languages, Philosophy and Communication Studies

jennifer.peeples@usu.edu

September 13, 2017

Ed Stafford
Department of Management

ed.stafford@usu.edu

April 26, 2017

Michelle Baker and Mark Brunson
Utah State University Faculty
Presentation: Translational Ecology: Communicating Science for Action
michelle.baker@usu.edu mark.brunson@usu.edu

April 12, 2017

Steve Kent
The Herald Journal City Editor
Presentation: Appealing to Editors: Inside the Mindset of an Endangered Species
skent@hjnews.com
Click here to view Steve's presentation.

March 15, 2017

Star Coulbrooke, Logan City Poet Laureate and USU Writing Center Director, with Shaun Anderson and Millie Tullis, USU creative writing students and writing center tutor supervisors.
USU Writing Center
Presentation: Make it Creative; Make it Relatable
Presentation Handout
Click here to view Star's presentation.
star.coulbrooke@usu.edu

February 15, 2017

Matt Jensen
Engineering Public Relations Specialist
Presentation: How to get Reporters Interested in Your Research
Click here to view Matt's presentation.   matthew.jensen@usu.edu

February 1, 2017

Mary-Ann Muffoletto
USU College of Science and Quinney College of Natural Resources Public Relations Specialist
Presentation: Communicating Science to People Who Aren’t Scientists
Click here to view Mary Ann's presentation.   maryann.muffoletto@usu.edu