Communicating Science Series

Please join us for an interdisciplinary series in which we explore how to communicate science effectively.

All presentations will be in USU Merrill-Cazier Library Room 154 from 11:30-1:00.

Light refreshments will be served.

 

Past Presentations

January 24th, 2018

Holly Strand
Science Communication Specialist

holly.strand@usu.edu

February 21st, 2018

Kerry Bringhurst
Utah Public Radio

kerry.bringhurst@usu.edu

March 28th, 2018

Star Coulbrooke
Logan City Poet Laureate and USU Writing Center Director

View Presentation star.coulbrooke@usu.edu

February 1, 2017

Mary-Ann Muffoletto
USU College of Science and Quinney College of Natural Resources Public Relations Specialist
Presentation: Communicating Science to People Who Aren’t Scientists
Click here to view Mary Ann's presentation.   maryann.muffoletto@usu.edu

February 15, 2017

Matt Jensen
Engineering Public Relations Specialist
Presentation: How to get Reporters Interested in Your Research
Click here to view Matt's presentation.   matthew.jensen@usu.edu

March 15, 2017

Star Coulbrooke, Logan City Poet Laureate and USU Writing Center Director, with Shaun Anderson and Millie Tullis, USU creative writing students and writing center tutor supervisors.
USU Writing Center
Presentation: Make it Creative; Make it Relatable
Presentation Handout
Click here to view Star's presentation.
star.coulbrooke@usu.edu

April 12, 2017

Steve Kent
The Herald Journal City Editor
Presentation: Appealing to Editors: Inside the Mindset of an Endangered Species
skent@hjnews.com
Click here to view Steve's presentation.

April 26, 2017

Michelle Baker and Mark Brunson
Utah State University Faculty
Presentation: Translational Ecology: Communicating Science for Action
michelle.baker@usu.edu mark.brunson@usu.edu

September 13, 2017

Ed Stafford
Department of Management

ed.stafford@usu.edu

October 18th, 2017

Jennifer Peeples
Department of Languages, Philosophy and Communication Studies

jennifer.peeples@usu.edu

November 15, 2017

Carsten Meier
Department of Art and Design

carsten.meier@usu.edu